C.O.D. Library ESL/ABE/GED Faculty Newsletter

August 20, 2008

How to Book a Librarian

Filed under: Library Instruction — Jenn @ 12:48 pm

The C.O.D. Library ESL/ABE/GED Team (Jenn, Prema, Bobbie and sometimes, Debra) is dedicated to giving your students the best introduction to the Library and its resources. We encourage you to set some time in your busy schedules to bring your students into the Library or to have a Librarian visit you in your off-campus classroom. Booking an instruction session with a Librarian is quick and easy:

  1. The first step is to contact me, your Librarian, and let me know what day(s) and time(s) would work best with your class schedule. The sooner you book an instruction session, the better! The instruction calendar fills up quickly, so even if you don’t intend to visit the Library until November, schedule your session as soon as possible in ensure your ideal day and time.
  2. Let me know a.) how many students are in your class b.) what sort of instruction session you would like (Library tour, hands-on computer time, a combination) c.) topics you’d like covered (electronic resources, jobs and career information, health information, etc.)
  3. Once we set up a time and reserve a classroom, I’ll send you a Library card application that you can copy and distribute to your students. Return the completed applications to me with a copy of your official class list, and I’ll be sure to have Library cards ready for your students in time for their Library visit
  4. I do require that instructors attend the Library sessions with their students. Your presence lets your students know that you value information literacy and that it is an important part of their education. Additionally, with you in the room, I can better address your students’ needs, skill levels and curriculum requirements.

I am more than happy to work with you to create a custom Library instruction session/visit for your students– just let me know what you want, and we’ll make it happen.

I look forward to seeing you and your classes in the Library this Fall!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

